More update from the PDP governorship primaries for the 2023 election

Umo Eno, a former commissioner for lands and water resources in the state emerged as the PDP ticket bearer for the governorship race. Mr. Uno is reportedly the preferred candidate of the incumbent governor Udom Emmanuel.


Mr. Emo secured 993 votes while two other contestants Onofiok Luke and Akan Okon gathered 3 votes each.


1,018 delegates were accredited for the party gubernatorial primary which was held at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo.

A total of 14 aspirants contested for the governorship party ticket.


Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri emerged as the party ticket winner. Fintiri secured 663 votes out of the 668 votes cast with 5 invalid votes.


Mohammed Jajari emerged as the party ticket bearer ahead of the 2023 governorship race. Mr. Jajari polled 487 votes while his closest opponent polled 362 votes.


The total votes cast in the primary was 849 votes.


Governor Seyi Makinde emerged as the PDP ticket bearer.


The election was held at Lekan Salami Stadium in the Adamasingba area of Ibadan the state capital.


Makinde gathered 1,040 votes while Mr. Hazeem Gbolarunmi polled two votes with six votes recorded as invalid.


Speaker of Benue state House of Assembly, Mr. Titus Uba emerged as the flag bearer for the Benue state governorship race.


The election was held at the Aper Aku Stadium in Makurdi the state capital.


Uba gathered 731 votes against the incumbent deputy governor of the state Benson Abounu who scored 81 votes.


Professor Eleazar Ikonne, former vice-chancellor of Abia state university emerged as the governorship candidate for the PDP Enugu state.


Muhammad Barde was declared the party flag bearer ahead of the 2023 governorship election.


All the six governorship aspirant were in attendance at the primary. Barde scored 160 votes while Jamilu Gwamma came second with 119 votes.


The primary was declared peaceful, free, and fair.


Former senatorial candidate, Sheriff Abdullahi emerged as the party ticket carrier. Sheriff was declared the winner with 295 votes.


Other aspirants include Abbagana Tata with 109 votes and Ali Tikau with 129 votes.


A total of 539 accredited delegates participated in the voting exercise with six invalid votes recorded.


Former PDP chairman in Taraba Kefas Agbu was declared the ticket winner with 443 votes out of the 522 votes cast.


The primary was held at the Jolly Nyame Stadium in Jalingo the state capital.


Other aspirants included Speaker Taraba State House of Assembly, Joseph Kuini with 31 votes; Jerome Nyame with 24 votes; Joel Ikenga with 11 votes, and Hikiah Buba-Joda.



Abdullah Yahman was declared the primary election winner.


Yahman polled 518 votes to defeat Aliyu Ahman Pategi who scored 31 votes and Professor Yisa Gana who scored 14 votes.



Former senator Ademola Adeleke was declared the winner with 1,800 votes while other candidates scored a total of five votes.


The primary was held at the Oshogbo Stadium.


For Plateau state, Barr. Caleb Mutfwang emerged as the ticket bearer.


The former chairman of Mangu local government area of plateau polled 252 votes to defeat 13 other aspirants.



Former Secretary to the Sokoto state government Sa-aidu Umar was elected the party flag bearer.


Umar won by consensus as other aspirants reportedly stepped down for him.



Former Secretary to Bauchi government, Barr. Ibrahim Kassan was declared the winner.


The primary took place at the Zaranda Hotel Bauchi state.


A total of 656 votes were cast with Barr. Kassan securing 655 votes while the remaining one was an invalid vote.



Mustapha Lamido, son of Sule Lamido former governor of Jigawa state emerged as the party elected winner.


Mustapha scored 829 votes to beat Sale Shehu who scored no vote.



Alhaji Muhammad Abacha, son of former military Nigerian head of state emerged as the winner.


Abacha scored 736 votes against Jafar Sani Bello who scored 710 votes.

It was supervised by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), police, and state security operatives.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.