PDP governorship primaries result so far ahead of the 2023 general election

Professor Uche Ikonne, the former vice-chancellor of the Abia state university, Uturu has emerged as the governorship candidate of the PDP (Peoples Democratic Party) for the 2023 governorship election in the state. The professor polled 468 votes out of the entire votes cast while the runner-up Mr. Lucky Igbokwe gathered 45 votes.

Mrs. Ngozi Merenge who was the only female contestant for the governorship race had five votes while other contestants’ deputy-governor Ude Oko-Chukwu, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, Senator Emma Nwaka, and Professor Ibe Greg scored six, five, four and two votes respectively.



The party’s primary was conducted at the Umuahia Township Stadium under heavy security presence and was reportedly peaceful.


Professor Ikonne assured the party that he would deliver victory to the party in the upcoming general elections. He also assured the good people of Abia that he would tackle the unemployment and infrastructural needs of the state.


Siminialayi Fubara former accountant general of Rivers state has emerged as the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party ahead of the 2023 general elections.


Mr. Fubara was declared the winner after he gathered 721 votes to defeat the other fifteen aspirants of the party. Some other aspirants include Mr. Mbotu with 86 votes, Isaac Kamalu with 86 votes, Felix Obua with two votes, David Brigs-four votes, West Morgan-four votes, Tammy Danagogo with thirty-six votes, George Kelly with thirty-seven votes, and other aspirants who gathered zero votes.


The primary was conducted at the Dr. Obi Wali conference center with about 898 delegates accredited to vote.



Recall that Simi Fubara the governorship candidate winner is wanted by the Economic financial crime commission (EFCC) for a N345 billion fraud.

The speaker of the Delta state house of Assembly Sheriff Oborevwori has emerged as the PDP governorship candidate ahead of the 2023 election.



Mr. Oborevwori polled a total of 590 votes to beat former Government House chief of staff David Edevbie who scored 113 votes as well as other top contenders including the Deputy Governor Kingsley Otuaro-9 votes, Peter Mrakpor- 9votes, Senator James Manager-83 votes, Fred Majemite-6 votes, Ejaife Odebala-3 votes, Abel Esievo-2 votes, Dr. Braduce Angozi-2 votes, Bright Onajefe-Gift-3 votes, Lucky Idike- one vote and Chris Iyowaye and Ike Agbarianovwe who scored zero votes respectively.



David Ombugadu (former member of the House of Representatives) has emerged as the governorship ticket bearer of the PDP ahead of the 2023 general elections.



Mr. Ombugadu polled 247 votes to defeat retired Major General Nuhu Angbazo who scored 203 votes. 450 accredited delegates voted for the candidates in the just concluded primaries.



Dr. Olajide Adedrian emerged as the governorship flag bearer for Lagos state under the platform of the PDP. The lead visioner of the Lagos4Lagos movement, Dr. Adedrian has promised to defeat the APC (All Progressive Congress) in the forthcoming elections.


Dr. Adedrian scored 679 votes to defeat David Vaughan who pulled 20 votes. The result was declared by the returning officer and chairman of the Lagos PDP electoral committee, Mr. Emmanuel Ogidi.


709 delegates were accredited for the voting exercise. Four contestants, Olanrewajo Jim-Kamal, Adedeji Doherty, Ade Dosunmu, and Gbadebo Rhodes- Vivour stepped down from the race.

Segun Sowunmi has been declared the PDP governorship flag bearer for Ogun state ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Mr. Sowunmi polled 555 votes to defeat Mr. Jimi Lawal and Ladi Adebutu who scored 30 votes and 15 votes respectively.


The primary was held at the Iwe Iroyin House in Abeokuta with 778 accredited voters. 702 votes were cast and three were voided.

A parallel governorship primary is ongoing at Olusegun Obasanjo presidential Library in Abeokuta.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.