Trillions Of Naira: Here’s How Much APC Made From Only Governorship Tickets

The All Progressive Party APC in the just concluded party primaries for elective positions in 2023 elections raked in a whooping N2.5 trillion naira from the sale of its presidential tickets.



Despite calls from some party members and the Nigerian public over the outrageous ticket prices, the party refused to bring down its prices, saying the high price of its ticket was to enable the party to separate ‘men from boys’.



The problem is not with the prices, the question becomes if politicians who picked up these forms are to stick to their annual payments by Nigeria’s constitution will they be able to afford them?

In addition, this calls for reflection on the high cost of politics in Nigeria and if it truly favors youths and citizenship participation.



The APC Presidential ticket was pegged at N100 million which included a N30 million expression of interest form, and a N70 million nomination form.



N50 million for governorship aspirants which was broken down to an N10 million expression of interest form, and N40 million nomination form.



N20 million for the Senate, N10 million for the House of Representatives, and N2 million for the state House of Assembly.



Aspirants under 40 years were given a 50 percent discount on the fees while women and persons living with disabilities will pay for only the expression of interest form.


This article takes a look at some states of the federation where aspirants picked the governorship tickets and the money generated for the party in these states.




The governorship election for 2023 will be held in 30 states out of the 36 states in Nigeria. However, that of Kogi and Bayelsa state would be held in November 2023 while that of other states have been slated for March 11 by INEC.


So far, 27 governorship candidates have emerged from the All Progressive Congress, while some factional issues are yet to be resolved for some states.



Abia- seven candidates contested for the party gubernatorial ticket leaving APC with a whooping N350 million.


Adamawa- Aishatu Ahmad emerged female candidate of the party. With 5 aspirants the party earned N250 million.



Bauchi- with seven aspirants, the party garnered N350 million


Benue- with a whopping 12 aspirants, the party polled N700 million


Borno- Governor Babagana Zulum was returned unopposed leaving the party with N50 million.


CrossRiver- 3 aspirants contested for the party ticket out of 33 aspirants who initially declared interest in the governorship ticket. This earned APC N150 million.


Delta- with Senator Omo-Agege as the only candidate, the party raked in N50 million.


Ebonyi- with about six candidates the party earned about N300 million.


Enugu- with Mr. Uche Nnaji as the sole contestant, N50 million was added to the party’s coffers.

Gombe- governor Inuwa Yahaya emerged sole contestant; N50 million was added to the party.

Jigawa- nine aspirants at N450 million

Kaduna- three aspirants contested for the ticket which leaves the party with N150 million.


Kano- two candidates pegged at N100 million

Katsina- nine candidates at N450 million

Kebbi- three aspirants for N150 million

Kwara- the incumbent governor of the state was returned unopposed. This added just N50 million.

Lagos- three candidates purchased the APC governorship forms at N150 million in total.

Nasarawa- two candidates for N100 million

Niger- with nine aspirants who vied for the party ticket, N450 million was added to the purse of the APC.


Ogun- six aspirants contested for the ticket, and this earned the party N300 million

Oyo- six aspirants leaving the party with N300 million

Rivers- five contestants vied for the ticket earning the party N250 million


Sokoto- six aspirants for N300 million

Taraba- nine aspirants at N450 million


Yobe- Governor Mai Malam Buni emerged unopposed earning the party N50 million.



Zamfara- two candidates vied for the position with Abdulmalik Gajam withdrawing on the primary election day for Bello Matawalle. The party gained N100 million from the two candidates.


More details will be released for other positions including Senate, House of Representative, and state House of Assembly.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.