Tinubu’s Campaign Director-General Jibrin and Others Defect to Kwankwaso’s NNPP Ahead of 2023 Elections

Former House of Representatives member Abdulmumin Jibrin and a strong voice in the Tinubu’s campaign team on Friday officially decamped to the NNPP after dumping the All Progressive Party APC ahead of the 2023 elections.

Jibrin prior to his resignation from APC on May 7, 2022 and defection to NNPP on May 13, 2022 was the Director-General of the Tinubu support group for the presidential aspirant Bola Tinubu.

Jibrin described the NNPP as the New Nigeria-Sabuwar Nigeria.

Jibrin Abdulmumin had threatened to leave the APC as a result of the crisis between him and the local party officials.

Punch Newspaper reported that Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano state and the former Lagos state governor and APC presidential aspirant Bola Tinubu initially intervened in stopping Jibrin’s defection.

READ ALSO: Just in: Head of Kidnapped Anambra lawmaker from Soludo’s constituency found

Also, the deputy speaker of the Kano state House of Assembly and Alhaji Zubairu Hamza Massu as well as three other lawmakers also defected from the All Progressive Party (APC) to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that ten lawmakers of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) also followed suit and decamped to NNPP.

NAN reports that this brings the total number of lawmakers in the Kano Assembly who decamped to NNPP to 15 reducing the number of APC lawmakers in the house to 24 and PDP.

Former governor of Kano state, Engr. Dr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso is currently the national leader of the New Nigeria Peoples Party. The party has said that with the support they are garnering, they are optimistic that Kwankwaso will emerge the next President of Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.