Gov. Dave Umahi: Ebonyi State Will Vote APC For 2023 And Not Any Other Party

In a swearing-in ceremony held on Monday in Abakalili the state capital, the governor of Ebonyi state, David Umahi stated that his state would vote only for his party, the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the forthcoming presidential election and not the Labour party or any other political party.



The governor who defected to APC from PDP in 2020 over the injustice meted out to the entire South-East region in the PDP was one of the contenders for the APC presidential ticket in the just concluded APC national convention.



He polled 38 votes out of the 2115 valid votes counted in the party primary. Bola Ahmed Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State emerged winner of the APC presidential ticket for the 2023 elections.



The governor who had congratulated the party flag bearer and stated his commitment to the party’s victory in the forthcoming election, further assured on Monday that his state would vote for APC and not any other party.



Recall that the governor on his return to his state after the party convention held in Abuja condemned the actions of other delegates from the southeast region over their non-support for the Igbo presidency agenda.


He also declared his lack of confidence in the President-General of the Ohaneze group over his actions in the just concluded APC presidential primary, stating that the president, Prof. George Obiozor is not his president anymore.


The governor in the swearing-in ceremony also informed the public that he has chosen his consensus candidate ahead of the local government elections in the state, and urged that his wish be respected by the people of Ebonyi.


He stated that the party is out to elect people who are popular and are capable of winning elections for it.



He also expressed his dissatisfaction with the low level of voters registration in the state and urged officials to brazen up to ensure that more people in the state register before the end of the continuous voters’ registration exercise.



The commissioners sworn in were appointed to fill the vacancy created as a result of commissioners who resigned to seek elective positions.


The new commissioners are; Chief Celestine Nwali for Capital City Development; Chief Chris Uchaji for Solid Minerals Development; Chief Romanus Nwasum for Infrastructural Development; Mrs. Beatrice Eze for Culture and Tourism; Chief Mattias Adum for Ministry of Lands and Survey; Dr. Rita-Mary Okoro as Head of Service.



The governor also swore in two special assistants; Chief Chuks Okoh as Special Assistant on Strategy, Mr. Uchenna Otu as Special Assistant on Transport, and seven local government area development center coordinators.



This recent statement from the governor is perceived by some Nigerians as a reaction to the growing solidarity the Labour party and its presidential candidate, Mr. Gregory Obi are gaining in the South-East region of the country ahead of the 2023 elections.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.