Breaking News: INEC Declares Diri Winner of Bayelsa Governoship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Monday, declared the incumbent Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri, winner of the State governorship election which was held on Saturday.

Diri defeated the All Progressive Congress candidate, Chief Timipre Sylva including other sixteen candidates in the Saturday election.

The Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Kuta Farouk who is also the Returning Officer made this known at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, Independent national electoral commission, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

Out of the eight local government areas of the state, the incumbent governor won only in six LGAs, while his opponent and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Timipre Sylva, won only in two LGAs

According to Prof. Farouk, the election winner, Gov. Douye Diri, scored 175, 196 votes, to defeat his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva, who got only 110, 108 votes.

He said the total number of registered voters is 1,056,862, while accredited voters stood at 372,000.

The LGAs that were won by the PDP candidate include Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw, while Chief Sylva of the APC, won Nembe and Brass LGAs.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.