2023 election: All elected presidential candidates and their political parties

With the elapse of the deadline given by INEC for the conduct of party primaries, the 18 accredited political parties for the 2023 election have completed their primaries, and presented to Nigerians their party flag bearers.


The next anticipated action is the selection of running mates by these presidential candidates for the 2023 election.

Here’s a list of the parties and their candidates:

Accord (A)
The national chairman of this party is Hon. Muhammed Nalado.


The party’s presidential aspirants were Professor Christopher Imumolen, an academic and philanthropist; and Dr. Solomon Uchenna Wining.


Prof. Imumolem emerged as the party ticket winner.


Action Alliance (AA)
The national chairman is Chief Barr. Kenneth Udeze.


Former chief security officer to General Sani Abacha, Hamza Al-Mustapha emerged the flag bearer of the party for the presidential election.


Action Democratic Party (ADP)
Mr. Yabaji Sani emerged as the presidential candidate for the ADP.


Mr. Sani is also the chairman of the Inter-party Advisory Committee (IPAC) and the National Chairman of the ADP.


Mr. Sani was chosen by consensus at the party’s Special National Convention.


Only Mr. Sani was the presidential aspirant of the party for the 2023 general elections.


African Action Congress (AAC)
This party was founded by the publisher of Sahara Reporters Omoyele Sowore in the run-up to the 2019 election.


The INEC recognized party chairman is Mr. Ezenwa Leonard.


Mr. Sowore was elected the presidential ticket bearer for the 2023 presidential elections. He was unanimously elected without opposition.


African Democratic Congress (ADC)
The National Chairman of ADC is Chief Ralph Nwosu.


The party had thirteen presidential aspirants including Kingsley Moghalu a former deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; Evangelist Ebiti Ndok-Jegede (a female British-trained cleric); Chukwuka Monye; Dr. Mani Ibrahim; Dumebi Kachikwu, activist and the chairman of Roots Television Nigeria and others.


Dumebi Kachikwu emerged as the party’s presidential flag bearer ahead of the 2023 general elections.

He polled 977 votes to defeat his closest opponent Kingsley Moghalu.

The party had 2,040 delegates for the presidential primary that was held in Abeokuta.



Allied Peoples Movement (APM)
Yusuf Mamman Dantalle, the only presidential aspirant of the APM emerged as the flag bearer for the presidential race.

Yusuf Mamman is also the chairman of the party.


All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA)
Peter Umeadi, a former chief judge of Anambra state emerged as the presidential flag bearer for the APGA party.


All Progressive Congress (APC)
The presidential primary of the ruling All Progressive Party was one of the largest contested party primaries with more than twenty aspirants.


Bola Ahmed Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State emerged as the ticket bearer with about 1271 votes.

The party primary had 2115 delegates for the election. The national chairman of the party is Abdullahi Adamu.


Boot Party (BP)
Mr. Sunday Adenuga, a businessman from Ogun state emerged as the flag bearer of the party.


Mr. Adenuga polled 292 votes to defeat Evelyn Ohevire who polled 18 votes.


National Rescue Mission (NRM)
Businessman Okwudili Nwa-Anyajike polled a total of 180 votes to emerge as the party flag bearer.

He defeated his closest opponent, Prof. Benedicta Egbo who scored 30 votes.


New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP)
Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, a former governor of Kano State emerged as the presidential flag bearer of the party.

Mr. Kwankwaso was also a former senator and minister of defence of Nigeria.


Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
Kola Abiola, the eldest son of Moshood Abiola emerged as the ticket bearer of the PRP for the upcoming election.

Other aspirants were Falalu Bello, Gboluga Mosugu, and Patience Key.



Social Democratic Party (SDP)
The national chairman of the party is Alhaji Shehu Gabam.


With 1,653 votes of which 1,609 were valid and 44 invalid, Prince Adebayo emerged as the party’s flag bearer with 1,526 votes.


Prince Adewole Adebayo is a lawyer and founder of KAFTAN television.


Young Progressive Party (YPP)
Son of the Ohinoyi of Ebiraland, Prince Malik Ado-Ibrahim emerged as sthe flag bearer of the party.

The Kogi state prince is a billionaire businessman.


People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
Out of the 17 aspirants that contested for the party presidential ticket, businessman and former Vice-president of Nigeria Alhaji Atiku Abubakar emerged as the winner and flag bearer.


This would be the sixth time the former vice-president would be vying for the presidency.


Labour Party (LP)
Former governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi who defected to the Labour party from the People’s Democratic Party emerged as the flag bearer of the party.


Prof. Pat Utomi stepped down for Peter Obi for the presidential ticket.


Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)
Dan Nwanyanwu emerged the presidential flag bearer of the ZLP for the 2023 elections.

He is also the national chairman of the party.


Action People’s Party (APP)
The party has no information with regards to the presidential ticket as no primary was conducted with regards to this. The party’s national chairman is Uchenna Nnadi.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.